Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• '82 Camaro in Upstate NY

Hello everyone!

I live in Upstate, NY (Endicott specifically) and just bought a 1982 Chevrolet Camaro Berlinetta with a 2.8L V6.

I would love to restore it someday, but for now I'd just like to get it running and drivable. The first owner killed the engine and put it into storage back in 1994 or 1995. The next owner bought it for his grandson and completed repairs to the engine. Turns out the kids mom won't let him have it so the guy sold it to me.

It runs, barely. I look forward (some sarcasm) to dealing with the issues brought on by sitting that long. At least it is mostly rust free and never wrecked.

To give you some knowledge about me, I was a mechanic for 6+ years and used to street race a souped-up 1985 Camaro RS 2.8L V6. I do not plan on racing this one though.

With that said, I have 2 goals I would like to achieve through this forum.
    1) Read, discuss, and gain knowledge from you folks to get the 2.8L V6 running good for now.
    2) Eventually learn enough to swap it out for a 3.4L V6, preferably a DOHC but I'll take what falls in my price range.

Can't wait to get to know you folks!
    1982 Chevrolet Camaro Berlinetta
    Upgrades include: 3.4L V6 (headers, 1.6 rockers, hot cam), T-5 Manual Transmission, 1986 Z-28 Anti-Sway Bars, 1987 IROC-Z Wonder Bar.

Welcome. i don't have much knowledge on that motor, but I do happen to live in JC on Riverside drive and am always willing to lend a hand. I had a 3400 from an 02 Alero that spun a bearing, but unfortunately just scrapped the block. If I end up with another I can keep you in mind.
    1996 Acura Integra GSR 4dr | 1970 Chevy Blazer 4x4 | 1970 GMC 3/4 ton 4x4 Suburban | 2002 Olds Alero 3400

Comment

i'm over here near Buffalo, how far away are binghamton and endicott?

93 Firebird 3.4