New. But not.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New. But not.

Hi. Some of you guys might know me from ThirdGen.org. I've come here seeking a little help with my hybrid conversion on my 87 Firebird. Originally, the Raven had the 2.8, which blew with 195,239.7 on the clock, and was replaced with a 3.1. The ailing (blasted TCC system was failing) 700R4 was swapped in favor of a NWC T5 in 2006 with 213,831 miles. Now, at 246K, I'm looking to start building some power. Right now, I have some MAF issues I hope to resolve soon. Anyways, I'm one of those guys who has dealt with pretty much everything. I graduated from an auto tech school in CT (which shall remain unnamed) back in 08, right before the market crashed and so did the job market, so I'm putting my talents to use in other areas. I have already completed a 302 to 730 harness swap, but that has been undone due to problems with the 730 harness I got from the junkyard (made the 730 harness a plug-and-play deal). I have installed VATS on my car, but it is unused at the moment. I personally bought 2 FSMs, one for the 87, and one for the 92, and use those a LOT. I'm one of those who has dealt with what has to be replaced or added to work between the old and the new systems on the 3rd gen F-body V6, especially when it comes to the vacuum setup.

As I said before, I own an 87 Firebird, and have since the day before my 18th birthday almost 7 years ago. When I went ahead to do the trans swap, back in late 2005, I picked up a 3.1L 93 Grand Prix. It was a good car once I replaced BOTH rear calipers , except for the occasional stalling and that code 32 I never could figure out (seemed to be a problem in the harness because the valve itself was good, I replaced the power wire, and even the ECM). I have a dislike for those guys who keep telling people on forums, especially TGO, to just "swap in a V8". That's just a waste of a perfectly good engine there.