Hello from TN

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello from TN

Hello everyone! A buddy of mine recommended that i joined this site since i just picked up a Grand Am SE with a 172000 mile 3400 in it. I'm really new to this motor so i dont know a whole lot about it yet but i am definitely wanting to learn. This is the first car ive owned since i totaled my turbo cavalier last march.

Unfortunately the grand am doesnt run but im hoping you guys can help me with that. The guy i bought it from said he was driving up a hill and it just sputtered and died on him and he couldnt start it back up. so far this is what ive done:

-tested the battery, it was junk so i bought a new one.
    -took a plug and wire and tested each individual prong on the coils while turning the motor over, they all sparked.
    -took a wire brush and cleaned off the connections on the coils
    -pulled all of the plugs and cleaned them off a little, they will be getting replaced fairly soon due to how dirty they were.
    -sprayed starter fluid in the intake and tried to start it (it didnt)

I can hear the fuel pump prime when i turn the key so i think thats functioning properly, and also after i turn it over if i pull a plug it has fuel on it. when im turning it over it just spins but it only sounds like i get fire here and there and if i start playing with the gas pedal it will hit more and more and almost sound like its about to start running (or explode into a giant fireball) but it wont run. last night for some reason when i tried to start it after doing nothing differently except try to read codes (which there are non of) i had it floored and it started for like 7 seconds. i had to keep it floored and it sounded like death but it spun up to about 2500rpm and then died back out.