compression ratio

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• compression ratio

Well i am going to be building up a 3400 from a 00 grand am not a gt- i am going to blow it with a m90 from a 92 bird and intercooled. here is my question that thing pushes out 12psi. and the compression is 9:5.1 already. so is this going to be too high? ans is there such a thing as a boost controller for a supercharger? i know there is for turbos- i have lots of experience that way no supercharged. will the pistons hold to that kind of boost for long at all even as a very quick daily driver?

(not getting many good answers as far the compression ratio goes from the z24 guys- just them trying to explain boost to me as if i did not know how it works)

You know that sun viser that doesn\'t quite go down when the sun is there and then when you are driving with it down and you can\'t see the stoplights ? Well... that\'s why my fiero isn\'t at the shop yet....

The pulley is the boost controller.

Your compression ratio should be no problem for an M90 at 12 psi with enough injector and tuning done.
    Ben
    60DegreeV6.com
    WOT-Tech.com

Comment

Originally posted by SappySE107 View Post
      The pulley is the boost controller.

Your compression ratio should be no problem for an M90 at 12 psi with enough injector and tuning done.

You will probably need a smaller pulley on that blower to get 12 psi. But yes, it will work.

As said above, it will work perfect. I have a stock 3400 running 14 psi @ redline on a cerntifugal blower. (intercooled) 30# fuel injectors with TGP chip. Runs awsome.

You will NEED to upgrade your valve springs. ( I recommend LS-6) The boost just pushes the stockers open @ high RPM.
      11.92 @ 122 MPH 3400 91 Cavalier Z24 Intercooled S/C. -totalled-
      10.56 @ 130 MPH 3900 LZ9 87 IROC Z28 Intercooled GT4088 Turbo

Comment

hey MARS,

how come he would need a smaller sized pulley ?

those m90 already do 12 psi with the stock pulley.

bjorn