Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Gauging interest...turbo manifolds?

Hey guys-

I'm checking to see if there would be any interest in making "reproduction" cast iron manifolds for the rear head, TGP style.

Est. Cost right now would be ~$100 but that's really just a ballpark, it's going to depend on my foundry's quote & machining costs.

I'd plan on making them for:
    2.8/3.1 MPFI
    3100/3400

and if I have more donor manifolds I could work with other engines too.

A little background:
    I can do my own metalcasting, I run a small microfoundry in my backyard. I cast aluminum mostly, but I can do brass, and I have many connections in the foundry industry where I can get cast iron done. In addition I worked for several years in an industrial iron jobbing foundry until they closed, so I have plenty of experience there as well. I make my own tooling, and cast my own parts whenever possible, but for castiron I will need to outsource the work.

Here's a few pictures of my work in Aluminum:
    Reproduction HK$ intake pipes for the Mazda 323 GTX

Intake adapters to use an Thunderbird IHI/Garrett turbo in a FWD application:

Model train parts for an enthusiast:

Custom hood ornament for my other car:

So, think there would be a demand for these parts? Anyone interested?
    -JerryRigg / Rocketman
    RIP - 94 GP SE
    DD - 95 GP SE
    Fun - 91 Mercury Capri XR2 Turbo AWD Conversion

http://www.werbatfik.com

Honestly, I think you'd be best to remake something like upper intakes with slight alterations and timing covers with that extra mod done to it to take on a double roller chain setup.

But you never know, there might be enough interested in a tgp rear mani order.
    Lifting my front wheels, one jack at a time.

Comment

not to discourage you but the 2.8L/3.1L guys are a dying breed these days. the 3X00 guys might be all for it tho..

S
      Shane "RedZMonte"
      2004 Corvette Z06 Commemorative Edition -VIRGIN