Desired ECU Serv # for f-body tuning

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Desired ECU Serv # for f-body tuning

I have a 1994 ECU now, and I'm looking to switch to an ECU w/ removable PROM. Which ECUs should I be looking for? When I look up 1993 Pontiac Firebird on car-part.com I also see 1993 Luminas, Regals, Cutlasses, and Grand Prixs too. Those aren't iron heads are they? Don't I need an iron head ECU for proper ignition timing or some such?

Perhaps it's just a matter of switching the PROM, but I'm just a beginner to tuning (researching still) and would like something I can drop in immediately without having to source a chip.

Thoughts? Are there specific ECU #s I should be looking for?
    '98 Volvo V90 - Ford 5.0 swap in progress
    '96 LR Range Rover 4.6 HSE - suspiciously reliable
    '92 Volvo 740 Wagon - former parts car, now daily-driver beater
    '71 Opel Kadett Wagon - 1.9L CIH w/ Weber DGV 32/36, in bits

Past Builds;
    1991 Z24, 3500/5 Spd. 275WHP/259WTQ 13.07@108 MPH
    1989 Camaro RS, ITB-3500/700R4. 263WHP/263WTQ 13.52@99.2 MPH
    Current Project;
    1972 Nova 12.73@105.7 MPH

Comment

Which vehicle(s) would I be most likely to find that in?

Comment

Originally posted by Superdave View Post
        LOL, that's not eactly a direct plug in. ROFL

I'm not aware of any direct plug ins for your application that will allow easy tunability.

A 7730 or if your ECM is mounted under the hood (Ihave to assume this is for one of the swapped vehciles in your sig), a 7727, would give you the ability to use quite a few different BCCs and masks out there, $A1, $8F, $58, $59, $88, $8D/S_AUJP, etc.

None of these are SFI though.