X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 4t60e issue

Car: 97 Lumina, 3.1l, approximately 128k miles

Hello,

I'm still an automatic trans newb., so I need help.

This car's tranny will occasionally drop out of gear or totally disengage and lose power during a WOT/heavy acceleration, usually in the 1st or 2nd gear (not sure exactly which one). Of course, the engine will rev high as a result. I take my foot off the pedal to let the engine reduce RPM, and the trans goes back to normal, it re-engages, and I'm on my way.

It happened again this morning on a hill, and I tried to replicate it at lunch, and it would not repeat the issue.

It will not do this all the time, only when I need it most (lol) at WOT and at random, which leads me to believe the issue is in the valve body or maybe a solenoid or the torque converter, not slippage/wear of the clutch or belts, etc.

I try to drive the car gently, but occasionaly I need to punch it. I'm just wondering if there is an inexpensive fix for this, or if the tranny is on the way out.

Thanks for help.

servo could be sticking before it warmed up
    when is the past time it had a filter change ?

Comment

Originally posted by unchained01 View Post
      servo could be sticking before it warmed up
      when is the past time it had a filter change ?
      I've been keeping it serviced. It probably has around 10k on the present fluid and filter. I got the car back in 2004. It's been doing this for a long time (5 yrs?), but it was so infrequent I never worried about it.

But I'm afraid it may be picking up in frequency. It seemed to have trouble going into first about a year ago exiting a store driveway, and it was warmed up. I put a cooler on it, and that seemed to have helped, but it did it again the other day as described.

I guess I should just drive it, but I don't want to get in a bind, etc., and I'm curious if the tranny should be replaced (or ditch the car), or maybe it's something less severe.

Comment