3100 - Goal: Mild gains over stock N/A

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 3100 - Goal: Mild gains over stock N/A

I have a 1996 Olds Cutlass Supreme, 3.1L 4dr sedan. I plan on doing some mild work, and I am fairly new to engine modifications. I don't plan on boosting it, nor do I think I'll magically get 300 HP. I just want something with a little more pickup than stock, for my own satisfaction of a project well-done.

I was thinking about: Open Air Filter with 2.5" piping, TB from a 3400, custom headers (possibly), high flow cat(s), 2.5" exhaust piping and some Borla mufflers. I want dual exhaust for the nice sound. I haven't looked underneath ol' trusty, but I wonder if true duals are possible?

That's about it. I would like to know:

While I am doing this, are there any other not-so-serious mods that I should look into? I don't plan on an engine swap unless mine has severe problems. I'm sure there are a few things I might be overlooking...

Thanks

switching to the large port intakes from a 96-99 3400 would be a good upgrade over stock manifolds.
    Ben
    60DegreeV6.com
    WOT-Tech.com

Comment

i have true dual exaust on my car, and its a pain keeping it from rattling and hitting the floor. if its a driver, id recoemnd sticking with single 2.5" exaust.

one thing you will want to look into is a way to tune it. doing the mods will get you so far, but unless you can tune you wont see the gains that you should.

Comment

Originally posted by sharkey View Post
        ione thing you will want to look into is a way to tune it. doing the mods will get you so far, but unless you can tune you wont see the gains that you should.
        agreed... one thing that is overlooked too much. I'm new to this engine and site as well, and while I've begun the collecting the parts i'll need, I realize that the most difficult but worthy component is the tuning.

Comment

How can I tune my vehicle? Does this step require me to bring it to a shop?