1999 Buick Century (Please Help)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1999 Buick Century (Please Help)

I just got done replacing the lower intake gasket on a 1999 Buick Century with a 3100. I used to have a 1995 Regal and and I have done the lower intake gasket on that about 2-3 years ago, then did the head gaskets about 6 months after that. Also did a lower intake gasket on a 1994 Skylark. I know these engines pretty well.

So anyways, I buy and sell cars for a living and I just spent 8 hours doing the lower intake on a 1999 Century. I get it all back together and start it up and it cranked over, released some sort of gas or puff of air and didn't start, then all the sudden it did start and it was making a ticking noise, I mean it didn't sound horrible but bad enough to where I'm paranoid and shut it off instantly. Curiousity kicked in and I tried it again running it for about 2 seconds with the same result and a check engine light. I know I can rent a scanner tomorrow but damn I wanna know what the deal is without starting it again. I guess if I installed the pushrods wrong which is unlikely the valve damage would already be done but I'm hoping its not the rocker arm smacking the valve cover and pistons bending a valve cause that would make me cry! (not literally, well, maybe!)

But could it be anything else?
    The cam positioning sensor looked like the wires weren't in the best shape but I taped and siliconed the bare copper but could it be that? I don't know just somebody help me please!

I need to sell this car to pay my outrageous insurance premium by the end of the month and I already have a buyer lined up that knows about me doing this repair and is willing to buy it as I put new brakes on it and installed the upgraded metal intake gasket.