Hola to All, Forum Noob Here; Please be Gentle

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hola to All, Forum Noob Here; Please be Gentle

First of all I want to thank Ben Phelps for his beneficial info on a project I've been pondering for several years. Knowledge is power, and the sharing of his knowledge is fantastic!

My name is Robert, and I am a Floridian who has lived in the Dominican Republic for 15 years. Since then, I've operated a world-renown motorcycle tour company, MotoCaribe, and I am also a partner in a film production company.

I go waaaaaay back with gasoline and wheels. My dad was a Ford & Chevy dealer through the early 70s, so I grew up around cars, really cool cars, since he was also a car nut. This includes selling Shelby cars, Cobras, during the hi-po Glory Days. Which is when I got "snake bit."

I had some good fortune in business and at one time, was an early dealer for Superformance Cobras. We'd import factory-built cars without drive trains, then stuff Ford FE & Windsor motors in them to sell, until the Shelby lawsuits flew and Superformance stopped selling cars for a while, and cut off dealers.

But I have to say big V8 hp in a light chassis will change your car world forever.

But I also love the old Brit iron, and have owned a gaggle of them, cars and bikes, and "Prince of Darkness" Lucas left me stranded more often than I can remember. Sill, y old, stinky underpowered engines aside, MGBs and some Triumphs were really fun iconic cars, and I love then dearly. I just am over putzing around with 65 whp. Know what I mean?